Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.

Stream of Consciousness

[strings] + [sax] + Eric Sleichim

BL!NDMAN asked Hanne Deneire (1980), Daan Janssens (1983), Stefan Prins (1979) and Bram Van Camp (1980) to write a composition for the unique combination of string quartet and saxophone quartet. The 4 composers, all in their early thirties, have been playing an important role in the Flemish music scene.

Although they are part of the same generation, they couldn’t be more diverse in their style of composition and esthetics. They reacted equally divers to the question to – next to the particular acoustic possibilities of the combination of saxophones and strings – start from poetry when composing their piece. Where Hanne Deneire and Daan Janssens are inspired by belles-lettres, Bram Van Camp will write an abstract musical piece that is like a poem in a philosophical way. Stefan Prins invades this concert program quite literally with Infiltrationen 3.0.

In Stream of Consciousness Eric Sleichim expresses an internal monologue in a reaction to the perception of the 4 new compositions.

Eric Sleichim: artistic direction

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Koen Maas: soprano saxophone
Roeland Vanhoorne: alto saxophone
Piet Rebel: tenor saxophone
Raf Minten: bariton saxophone

BL!NDMAN [strings]
Diamanda La Berge Dramm: violin
Mariana Hutchinson: violin
Hélène Koerver: viola
Suzanne Vermeyen: cello

Dries D’Hondt: sound engineer


H. Deneire: Lunacy
D. Janssens: (furioso)
S. Prins: Infiltrationen 3.0
E. Sleichim: Stream of consciousness
B. Van Camp: Consonants


17 Mar
Antwerpen (BE)