Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.


The American Minimalists
Warner Classics, 2023

Price: 35 €

+ shipment
Belgium: 6 €
European Community: 15 €
Rest of the world: 25 €

  1. send us an e-mail at with the details of your order, your name and adress.
  2. deposit the exact amount into account IBAN BE71-7340-3344-1969 (BIC: KREDBEBB)
  3. as soon as we receive the payment, the cds will be sent to you

Almost every story about minimal or repetitive music starts with the triumvirate Steve Reich, Philip Glass and Terry Riley. Each in their own way, paved the way for one of the most exciting and thriving movements in music of the 20th and 21st centuries.

Minimal music has been an inspiration for Eric Sleichim since the 1980s. Today, BL!NDMAN’s demarche towards the renewal of early music finds more than ever a connection with Reich, Glass and Riley whose works draw inspiration from the oldest polyphonic techniques.

In this programme, BL!NDMAN offers a sampling of the exceptional timbres generated by his unique line-up: with his saxophone, string and percussion quartet, piano, electric guitar, tubax and electronics, BL!NDMAN conjures up a 21st-century orchestral sound. The solo works combine the virtuosity of the soloists with the use of electronic doubling, while in the tutti works, the instrumentation and powerful consonance of the full BL!NDMAN ensemble provide the very diverse perspectives that give full credit to these extraordinary compositions.

The choice of relatively well-known and, above all, lesser-known works by the three icons of repetitive music gives raison d’être to a triple album that also immediately aroused the interest of major record label Warner Classics.

Eric Sleichim: concept, arrangements & artistic direction, tubax & electronics
Electric Counterpoint: e-guitar & e-bass
In C: e-guitar
Poppy Nogood and the Phantom Band: soprano saxophone

Fabian Coomans: piano & Synths

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Pieter Pellens: soprano & alto saxophone
Hendrik Pellens: Aato saxophone
Piet Rebel: tenor saxophone
Sebastiaan Cooman: baritone saxophone
New York Counterpoint and Music in Contrary Motion:
Koen Maas: soprano saxophone
Raf Minten: baritone saxophone

BL!NDMAN [strings]
Stefanie Van Backlé: violin
Femke Verstappen: violin
Monica Goicea: viola
Suzanne Vermeyen: cello

BL!NDMAN [drums]
Yves Goemaere: percussion
Hannes Nieuwlaet: percussion
Ward De Ketelaere: percussion
Gideon Van Canneyt: percussion
Music in Contrary Motion Christiaan Saris: percussion


CD1 Steve Reich
1. Nagoya Marimbas
2. Cello Counterpoint: Movement I
3. Cello Counterpoint: Movement II
4. Cello Counterpoint: Movement III
5. New York Counterpoint: Movement I
6. New York Counterpoint: Movement II
7. New York Counterpoint: Movement III
8. Triple Quartet: Movement I
9. Triple Quartet: Movement II
10. Triple Quartet: Movement III
11. Electric Counterpoint: Movement I
12. Electric Counterpoint: Movement II
13. Electric Counterpoint: Movement III

CD2 Philip Glass
1. Music In Fifths
2. Music in Contrary Motion: Cell 1-10
3. Music in Contrary Motion: Cell 11-14
4. Music in Contrary Motion: Cell 15-18
5. Music in Contrary Motion: Cell 19-20
6. Music in Contrary Motion: Cell 21-22
7. Music in Contrary Motion: Cell 23
8. Music in Similar Motion
9. Music with Changing Parts: Part 1
10. Music with Changing Parts: Part 2

CD3 Terry Riley
1. The Tuning Path
2. Poppy Nogood and the Phantom Band
3. In C: Part 1
4. In C: Part 2
5. In C: Part 3
6. In C: Part 4
7. In C: Part 5
8. In C: Part 6