Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.


[sax] + Eric Sleichim + James Wood + Collegium Vocale

The illuminated manuscripts of Peter Alamire (c.1470-1536) are without doubt one of the richest treasuries of polyphonic music. Not only do they contain works of the most prominent composers of the Renaissance, visually these choir books are absolute masterpieces.

On the basis of this musical heritage Eric Sleichim, along with the saxophones of the BL!NDMAN collective and 12 singers of Collegium Vocale Ghent, conducted by James Wood, explores in MORGEN! the intriguing tension between seemingly disparate musical worlds: original scores go into dialogue with contemporary arrangements.

A world premiere by the Italian composer Salvatore Sciarrino (°1947) and the enigmatic double play for two counter tenors and tubax of Eric Sleichim surprise the audience and tend the musical discourse towards confrontation. Sensuous love poetry dissolves in devout Marian worship; voices intertwine with the sounds of copper; particles of electronic sounds vanish into the mystical space. By modulating the setting of musicians and singers and their dialogue with electronics and sound-spacialization the concert turns into a gigantic chess game in which devotion and lament are alternated. Thus the program navigates intentionally unnoticed from the Renaissance to the 21st century and back.

Eric Sleichim: artistic direction, arrangements and tubax
James Wood: conductor

Collegium Vocale Gent
Joowon Chung, Chiyuki Okamura, Magdalena Podkoscielna: soprano
Sofia Gvirts, Bart Uvyn, Alexander Schneider: alto
William Knight, Stephan Gähler, Benedict Hymas: tenor
Stefan Drexlmeier, Matthias Lutze, Robert van der Vinne: bass

BL!NDMAN [sax]
Koen Maas: soprano sax
Roeland Vanhoorne: alto sax
Piet Rebel: tenor sax
Raf Minten: baritone sax

Dries D’Hondt: sound engineer

A coproduction of AMUZ-Laus Polyphoniae, BL!NDMAN & Collegium Vocale Gent


Alexander Agricola: Variations on Fors seulement & De Tous bien playne
Pierre de la Rue: Il viendra le jour désirée
Josquin Desprez: Salve Regina a5 / Missa malheur me bat a4 (Agnus Dei I,II,III)
Jacob Obrecht: Salve Regina a6 / Fors seulement a4
Johannes Ockeghem: Intemerata dei Mater a5
Anonymous: Tota pulchra es amica mea/Salve
Jean Richafort: Damour je suis desheritée (VienNB Mus.18746)
Salvatore Sciarrino: Diverbio tra Mottetti (Saxophone quartet and 12 voices)
Eric Sleichim: Morgen ! (2 countertenors, tubax and electronics)


01 May
Musikfest Hamburg
Hamburg (DE)
30 Apr
Brugge (BE)
29 Apr
Gent/gand (BE)
28 Apr
Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ
Amsterdam (NL)
27 Apr
Festival van Vlaanderen Kortrijk
Kortrijk (BE)
30 Aug
St-Pauluskerk (org. Laus Polyphoniae)
Antwerpen (BE)