Sorry, your browser is not supported. Please use a modern browser like Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.

Time is ticking

[drums] + Silas Van de Spiegel + Rémy Gouraud + Fabian Coomans

The conductor turns to the audience, feels his heartbeat and lets that form the basis of Silence Must Be.

In this work Thierry De Mey allows the listener to invent imaginary music according to a set choreography. In Schnittke’s Lebenslauf it is not the heartbeat but four metronomes that set the tone.
In his Poème Symphonique, Ligeti ups the stakes with 100 metronomes that evolve from unity to complete chaos before eventually dying out one by one.

And then finally, we discover even more asymmetrical rhythmic patterns and wild energy in Xenakis’ Rebonds B, as well as the refined textures of Takemitsu’s Seasons.

Eric Sleichim: artistic direction, arrangements

BL!NDMAN [drums]
Ward De Ketelaere: percussion
Silas Van de Spiegel: percussion
Rémy Gouraud: percussion

Fabian Coomans: piano


Alfred Schnittke: Lebenslauf
Toru Takemitsu: Seasons, Rain Tree
György Ligeti: Poème Symphonique
Thierry De Mey: Silence Must Be
Iannis Xenakis: Rebonds B


27 Nov
Brugge (BE)